• This forum contains old posts that have been closed. New threads and replies may not be made here. Please navigate to the relevant forum to create a new thread or post a reply.
  • Welcome to Tamil Brahmins forums.

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest which gives you limited access to view most discussions and access our other features. By joining our Free Brahmin Community you will have access to post topics, communicate privately with other members (PM), respond to polls, upload content and access many other special features. Registration is fast, simple and absolutely free so please, join our community today!

If you have any problems with the registration process or your account login, please contact contact us.

value of a rupee!!

Status
Not open for further replies.

GANESH65

In 1969, I used to eat a full meal for Rs. 0.60 ( sixty paise --in a Iyengar Hotel) near the railway gate in Peralam in the then Tanjore District.
I was a teacher, then, in Government High School, Peralam.

In 1969, I used to eat a full meal for Rs. 0.60 ( sixty paise --in a Iyengar Hotel) near the railway gate in Peralam in the then Tanjore District.
I was a teacher, then, in Government High School, Peralam.
A teacher's salary should have been in three digits, right, Sir? :)
P.S: A four-digit-salaried groom was a 'good catch' even in late 70s!!! :fish2:

The most valuable Re 1 is the one that you put in a Gift cover along with a 500 note for the newly weds! Or fhe Vetrilai tamboolam given to a Kanya with a Re 1 coin!

The most valuable Re 1 is the one that you put in a Gift cover along with a 500 note for the newly weds! Or fhe Vetrilai tamboolam given to a Kanya with a Re 1 coin!
Now a days, the coins are either in the denomination of 5 or 10. :)

Rs 5 was the norm for "Moi" (for colony friends) in the 70's....Now I guess it ranges from Rs 100 to Rs 500

A teacher's salary should have been in three digits, right, Sir? :)