• Welcome to Tamil Brahmins forums.

    You are currently viewing our boards as a guest which gives you limited access to view most discussions and access our other features. By joining our Free Brahmin Community you will have access to post topics, communicate privately with other members (PM), respond to polls, upload content and access many other special features. Registration is fast, simple and absolutely free so please, join our community today!

    If you have any problems with the registration process or your account login, please contact contact us.

US President Obama to confer 2014 National Humanities medal on Jhumpa Lahiri

Not open for further replies.
President Obama to Award 2014 National Humanities Medal on Jhumpa Lahiri

Ten distinguished humanities recipients to receive honor on Sept 10 in East Room ceremony


National Humanities Medal

Credit: National Endowment for the Humanities (NEH)

WASHINGTON (September 3, 2015) — The White House today announced the distinguished recipients of the 2014 National Humanities Medal. The awardees include historians, writers, a philosopher, scholar, preservationist, food activist and an education course. President Barack Obama will confer the medal in a September 10 ceremony in the East Room. The First Lady will also attend.
The National Humanities Medal honors an individual or organization whose work has deepened the nation’s understanding of the human experience, broadened citizens’ engagement with history and literature or helped preserve and expand Americans’ access to cultural resources.

The National Endowment for the Humanities (NEH) manages the nominations process for the National Humanities Medal on behalf of the White House. Each year NEH invites nominations from individuals and organizations across the country. The National Council on the Humanities, NEH’s presidentially-appointed and Senate-confirmed advisory body, reviews the nominations and provides recommendations to the President, who selects the recipients.
Created as an independent federal agency in 1965, NEH awards grants that support research, education, preservation, and public programs in the humanities that have resulted in thousands of museums exhibits, scholarly books, films, and radio programs. NEH is celebrating its 50[SUP]th[/SUP] anniversary beginning Sept 29.
“The National Endowment for the Humanities is proud to join President Obama in celebrating the achievements of these distinguished medalists,” said NEH Chairman William Adams. “The recipients of this medal have sparked our imaginations, ignited our passions, and transformed our cultural understanding. They embody how the humanities can serve a common good.”
Here are the 10 recipients of the 2014 National Humanities Medal. Click on the name below to read more background.

The first National Humanities Medal was awarded in 1996. Since then, 175 have been bestowed — to 163 individuals and 12 organizations — inclusive of this year’s recipients. A complete list of previous honorees is available at this link.

The humanities medal, first awarded as the Charles Frankel Prize in 1989, will be presented along with the 2014 National Medal of Arts. The ceremony will be live-streamed at 3 PM on Thursday, September 10 at www.WhiteHouse.gov/live

Not open for further replies.

Latest ads

Thank you for visiting TamilBrahmins.com

You seem to have an Ad Blocker on.

We depend on advertising to keep our content free for you. Please consider whitelisting us in your ad blocker so that we can continue to provide the content you have come here to enjoy.

Alternatively, consider upgrading your account to enjoy an ad-free experience along with numerous other benefits. To upgrade your account, please visit the account upgrades page

You can also donate financially if you can. Please Click Here on how you can do that.

I've Disabled AdBlock    No Thanks