• Welcome to Tamil Brahmins forums.

    You are currently viewing our boards as a guest which gives you limited access to view most discussions and access our other features. By joining our Free Brahmin Community you will have access to post topics, communicate privately with other members (PM), respond to polls, upload content and access many other special features. Registration is fast, simple and absolutely free so please, join our community today!

    If you have any problems with the registration process or your account login, please contact contact us.

How political map of India has changed


Active member
Bifurcation of Jammu & Kashmir: How the Map of India has Changed Since 1951

A look at the political map of India over the last seven decades would give an appearance of it being in a constant state of flux. It isn't only that the state boundaries have been redrawn over and over again but India's international borders have also extended by a bit (Goa, Sikkim, Puducherry). The political map of India is being redrawn again with the bifurcation of the state of Jammu & Kashmir into two Union Territories - Jammu & Kashmir and Ladakh. From hundreds of princely states and 17 provinces before partition, to 14 states and 6 Union Territories following the Reorganisation of States in 1956 to 29 states and 7 union territories, before the bifurcation of Jammu & Kashmir to 28 states and 9 union territories after it. We trace the evolution of the political map of India.
From after Partition to the bifurcation of Jammu & Kashmir, we trace the evolution of the political map of India.


Latest ads