• Welcome to Tamil Brahmins forums.

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest which gives you limited access to view most discussions and access our other features. By joining our Free Brahmin Community you will have access to post topics, communicate privately with other members (PM), respond to polls, upload content and access many other special features. Registration is fast, simple and absolutely free so please, join our community today!

If you have any problems with the registration process or your account login, please contact contact us.

Guru-Shisys parampara.

prasad1

There are multiple threads extolling the virtues of Guru-Shisys parampara.
People always think of Good-old days but were they really that for the majority of the population? NO.
They generally exploited the majority of the people. People, in general, did not have a voice.

I come from a humble background, I would have been marginalized in the ancient system.

I studied in Private and public schools. So I did not have the luxury of learning in an ancient Gurukulam. All I know about the gurukulam is reading about it in Ancient mythological stories. Or watching Anand Kumar is an Indian Mathematics educator best known for his Super 30 program.

Gurukulam was very exclusive and selective. It was only for the privileged few.

Today, with a surge in world population, we find the "modern" process has made it possible for more people to gain an education. And as more schools, colleges, universities cater to this demand the "one on one" G/S relationships have diminished somewhat. But again I add that it will never really be replaced or outmoded. This is live interaction and will go on till there are people. Teachers in classrooms are the modern gurus.