• Welcome to Tamil Brahmins forums.

    You are currently viewing our boards as a guest which gives you limited access to view most discussions and access our other features. By joining our Free Brahmin Community you will have access to post topics, communicate privately with other members (PM), respond to polls, upload content and access many other special features. Registration is fast, simple and absolutely free so please, join our community today!

    If you have any problems with the registration process or your account login, please contact contact us.

BRAHMINISM -- Yesterday,Today & Tomorrow

Not open for further replies.
The caste of priests, of those who know and repeat the Vedas. This is the first of the four Hindu castes (see Varna) and belongs to the dvija or twice-born (see Upanayanam) category.
According to the Puranas, Brahmins were created from the mouth of Brahma so that they might instruct mankind. This was why they were considered the highest of the four castes, as they had the most to do with intellect. Since it was recognised that knowledge is the only thing that remains with a person throughout life, Brahmins, as teachers, were duly respected.

In ancient times, this name was specifically applied to those priests of the Atharva Vedas (see Veda) whose place was at the northern side of the altar during sacrificial ceremonies.
The Brahmins conducted the daily rites, the purification ceremonies (see Sanskara), sacrifices and taught the Vedas. Their life was divided into four stages (see Ashram) Brahmins had to maintain a strict code of conduct and exemplify ideal behavior.
Which they had to go through in the prescribed order. Since they were the teachers, preachers and priests they had to be proficient in sacred knowledge through the Vedas. They had to maintain a strict code of conduct and exemplify ideal behavior. They were to be kind and gentle. For this, they earned certain privileges. They were regarded as the highest class and respected by all, to the extent that they were treated almost like gods by commoners and kings alike. They were given special gifts, dana, dakshina and were free from oppression and immune from capital punishment. It was considered to be the gravest of sins to kill a Brahmin. Only a priest could partake of the sacrificial Soma and eat the remains of the sacrifices, for no one else was regarded holy enough to eat the divine leftovers.
Initially, a person became a Brahmin on the basis of his knowledge of the Vedas. In time, the Brahmins began interpreting laws to their own advantage to maintain their privileges. And because of this unassailable social and moral authority, they were unchecked.
Thus, according to the Brahmins themselves, they were the chiefs of all created beings, entitled to all honour. The Shatapatha Brahmana declares that there are two kinds of divinities: gods and Brahmins who have learnt the Vedas. Only the Brahmins were allowed to read and teach the Vedas and hence monopolised the privilege of priesthood in the later Vedic period. They also established that one was born into a caste, which could not be changed except to be outcaste. This became the common practice, which survives till the present.
Today most Brahmins are engaged in other secular activities. However, only a qualified Brahmin can conduct religious ceremonies. These professional priests are now called Pandit, Bhatt or Shastri. There are several subdivisions within the Brahmin caste. Earlier, the different Vedas were preached by Brahmins belonging to specific gotras. The subdivisions are therefore based on their gotra or on geographic location. Presently there are 1,800 subdivisions. A Brahmin should be able to trace his origin to one of the seven great sages - Kashyapa, Atri, Bharadvaja, Gautama, Vishvamitra, Jamadagni and Vasishtha. Of these seven, Vishvamitra is said to have been born a Kshatriya and later became a Brahmin after performing severe penance.
Geographically, Brahmins are divided into two main groups - of the north and of the south, each of which has five divisions. The categories of the north are Kanyakubja, Sarasvata, Gauda, Mithila and Utkala. Those of the south are Maharashtra, Telinga, Dravida, Karnataka and Malabar. Each group claims to be the highest category. By common perception, Brahmins involved in the funerary rites (see Antyeshti) are considered the lowest category.
Customs and Ceremonies which deal with specific ceremonies for specific occasions; customs appeal because of the grace and beauty they bestow on the routine business of living. Perhaps the most intriguing fact about Hinduism is its ability to adapt to changing attitudes. Nor does it flinch from other theological points of view but, instead, posits that 'just as all rivers meet in the ocean, so do all religions lead to one god'. Hindu is not synonymous with Indian. Although about 80 percent of Indians are Hindus, India is home to almost every religion in the world. It also includes non-formal and tribal faiths. All these have influenced Hinduism and vice-versa, while retaining their separate distinct identities. A word of caution. Everyone is advised to use their discretion to accept or follow any information contained in indiaMystica.. It is for those who have a general interest in India and would like more information about popular beliefs and ceremonies and their significance

BRAHMINISM --- Yesterday, Today & Tomorrow

An Article published in Brahmodaya, a Souvenir

Shri Ambes,

The write-up has some inconsistencies as well as claims which are contrary to facts. It will take lot of typing effort for me to give my comments, but I am attempting to prepare one. In the meanwhile I will watch with interest the views of our learned members.
Not open for further replies.

Latest ads