• Welcome to Tamil Brahmins forums.

    You are currently viewing our boards as a guest which gives you limited access to view most discussions and access our other features. By joining our Free Brahmin Community you will have access to post topics, communicate privately with other members (PM), respond to polls, upload content and access many other special features. Registration is fast, simple and absolutely free so please, join our community today!

    If you have any problems with the registration process or your account login, please contact contact us.

Significance of Nine Days of Navratri

Not open for further replies.


Life is a dream
Staff member
Hinduism is considered to be amount the oldest religion in the world and is over 7000 years old. Over this time Hinduism has grown to develop some very important and complex religious festivals and believes. Navratri is one of these important festivals and literally translates to “nine nights” of worship to the goddess of power. The concept of Navratri is the triumph of good over evil. The goddess Durga is believed to have the power to create, preserve and destroy and during this festival she is worshiped to offer protection to her children on earth.

Navratri is celebrated for nine whole days. Each day has its own special significance and goddess Durga is worshipped under nine different names as Shailputri, Brahmacharini, Chandraghanta, Kushmanda, Skanda Mata, Katyayani, Kalratri, Maha Gauri and Siddhidatri.

During these nine days, different aspects of the supreme goddess are celebrated. The first three days are devoted to the goddess Durga, who destroys evil. For the next three days, the goddess Lakshmi, who grants wealth and prosperity is worshipped and the goddess Saraswati, the goddess of wisdom is revered during the last three days.

Day 1 – 3: The first three days are devoted exclusively to the worship of the goddess Durga. During this period, her energy and power are worshipped. Different manifestation of Durga is worshipped each day. The first day’s Pooja (worship) is dedicated to Shailputri who is the youngest form of Durga and is said to be the daughter of the Himalayas. The first day sees the worship of the girl child and her power and contribution towards human society. On the second day, the prayers have now converted towards worshiping Parvaty and concentrate on a young woman, translating the change from a young girl to a young woman. On the third day, the worship is specifically done for the goddess Kali who is represented as a mature woman. She is also considered to be very protective and prepared to defend her children aggressively from any form of harm thus bring out her motherly instincts.

Day 4 - 6. During these three days the worship turns towards goddess Laxmi who signifies wealth and power. During these days the worship is channelled towards Laxmi Devi who is one of the 9 forms of Durga Mata worshiped during the Navratri.

Day 7. On day seven the worship shifts to goddess Swaraswati who is linked to art and knowledge and prayers are offered to ask for spiritual guidance away from our worldly knowledge. The main reason is to remind people that the knowledge they acquire is thanks to Saraswati and is only beneficial in the world so acquiring knowledge from goddess Saraswati will help us move on to the next world thus making her knowledge very important.

Day 8. The eighth day worship is as Durgashtami and is dedicated towards the farewell of goddess Durga. A 'Yagna' is performed offering Ghee, rice pudding and sesame seeds on the Eighth day.

Day 9. The ninth and final day of the Navratri is celebrated as Mahanavami and sees the worship of all forms of Durga whereby the Kanya Pooja is held. Nine girls are invited to the prayers and worshiped; this symbolizes the nine stages through which the goddess Durga is venerated. This is the Last day whereby the 9 girls are worshiped and fed before the completion if this religious festival. The nine girls chosen on this day are selected indiscriminately without observing cast of creed. This is due to the ability for Duga Mata to appear in any form thus making every girl a potential goddess on this day.

The Navtratri is considered to be the most significant of all festivals and every Hindu house must perform this festival to receive spiritual cleansing and protection from Goddess Durga.

Don’t forget to pray and seek the blessings of the Goddess Durga during Navratri. May Maa Durga Illuminate your life with happiness and Fortune.
Happy Navratri!


Happy Navarathri:

Our festivals are celebrated in tune with nature. One among them is Navarathri Celebrations.

In fact there are Five Navarathris to be celebrated five times a year. They are Magha Navarathri, Vasantha Navarathri, Gupta Navarathri,Sharad Navarathri, and Pausha Navarathri.

Of the five, Sharad Navarathri in the beginning of winter during month of Puratasi ( beginning of winter in September-October) is known as Maha Navarathri, celebrated all over the Country., the other one Vasantha Navarathri in the beginning of spring(March-April) in the month of Chaitra is celebrated mostly in Northern part of the Country.

The other Navarathris are celebrated at various parts of our Country in different forms.
The beginning of summer and the beginning of winter are two very important junctures of climatic change and solar influence. These two junctions must have been chosen as the sacred opportunities for the worship of the divine power that provides energy for the earth to move around the sun.

With Best Wishes for the Nine nights Festival.

Dear All,

Thanks for the Wonderful Information on Navaratri.

I need to know sanskrit names of nivedyams for the Following. Please helppuliyogareKalkandu Sadham ( Kalkanndu Pongal)Fruit - Guava Fruit sanskrit name
Thanks in advance
Not open for further replies.

Latest ads

Thank you for visiting TamilBrahmins.com

You seem to have an Ad Blocker on.

We depend on advertising to keep our content free for you. Please consider whitelisting us in your ad blocker so that we can continue to provide the content you have come here to enjoy.

Alternatively, consider upgrading your account to enjoy an ad-free experience along with numerous other benefits. To upgrade your account, please visit the account upgrades page

You can also donate financially if you can. Please Click Here on how you can do that.

I've Disabled AdBlock    No Thanks