• Welcome to Tamil Brahmins forums.

    You are currently viewing our boards as a guest which gives you limited access to view most discussions and access our other features. By joining our Free Brahmin Community you will have access to post topics, communicate privately with other members (PM), respond to polls, upload content and access many other special features. Registration is fast, simple and absolutely free so please, join our community today!

    If you have any problems with the registration process or your account login, please contact contact us.

Pancha Nachiyar Seva - Selection of Medieval Hymns (2) from 4000 Divyaprabandham

Not open for further replies.
Pancha Nachiyar Seva - Selection of Medieval Hymns (2) from 4000 Divyaprabandham


Sridevi-Bhudevi-Padmini-Niladevi-Mahalakshmi­(Consorts aka Pancha Nachiyar) Samedha Sri Devadirajan Perumal (Sriman Narayana/Maha Vishnu) & Sri Padmanabha Swamy Prakara Seva @ Shangu Chakra Gadha Padmam - My Home Thirumaligai (Sanctum) during Vaikunta Ekadesi (January 11,2014) Mahotsavam. The accompanying Azhwar Pasurams (Tamil Hymns) from 4000 Divyaprabandham glorifying the 108 Divyadesams (Abodes of Vishnu) is rendered by Sangita Kalanidhi(s) Smt(s). Bombay Sisters. Sri Padmanabha Swamy reclines on the serpent Anantha or Adi Sesha. The serpent has five hoods facing inwards, signifying contemplation. The Lord's right hand is placed over a Shiva Lingam. Sridevi, the Goddess of Prosperity and Bhudevi the Goddess of Earth, two consorts of Vishnu are by his side. Brahma emerges on a lotus, which emanates from the navel of the Lord.

Divya Desams refer to the 108 Vishnu temples that are mentioned in the works of the Tamil Azhwars (saints). Divya in the Tamil language indicates "premium" and Desam indicates "place" (temple). Of the 108 temples, 105 are located in India, one in Nepal and two outside of the Earthly realms. Most of the Divya Desams in Tamil Nadu follow the Thenkalai tradition. This includes the important temples of Srirangam and Triplicane. The Divya Desams are revered by the 12 Azhwars in the Divya Prabandha, a collection of 4,000 Tamil verses.

The Nalayira Divya Prabandham (Tamil: நாலாயிர திவ்ய பிரபந்தம்) is a collection of 4,000 Tamil verses (Naalayira in Tamil means 'four thousand') composed before 8th century AD, by the 12 Azhwars, and was compiled in its present form by Nathamuni during the 9th -- 10th centuries. The work is the beginning of the canonization of the 12 Vaishnava poet saints, and these hymns are still sung extensively even today. The works were lost before they were collected and organized in the form of an anthology by Nathamuni. The Prabandha sings the praise of Narayana (or Vishnu) and his many forms. The Azhwars sung these songs at various sacred shrines. These shrines are known as the Divya Desams (Holy Abodes of Vishnu)
Not open for further replies.

Latest ads

Thank you for visiting TamilBrahmins.com

You seem to have an Ad Blocker on.

We depend on advertising to keep our content free for you. Please consider whitelisting us in your ad blocker so that we can continue to provide the content you have come here to enjoy.

Alternatively, consider upgrading your account to enjoy an ad-free experience along with numerous other benefits. To upgrade your account, please visit the account upgrades page

You can also donate financially if you can. Please Click Here on how you can do that.

I've Disabled AdBlock    No Thanks